First Aid

I was wondering if the spaces would consider having an appointed first aider.

Do you have a defibrillator?

Even though we are all non-employees would you consider the HSE regulations apply?

AEDs

Automated external defibrillators (AEDs) are normally only installed in places where there is a higher incidence of elderly people or those more likely to have heart issues, but increasingly places like transport hubs, shopping areas and schools are maintaining an AED on site.

That said AEDs are only suitable for a very specific heart issue, I’m not a doctor but from my training I think it’s VF (ventricular fibrillation). So in other words it can’t treat every situation which is where CPR and First Aid at Work training can be helpful to treat the person until medical professionals can turn up with more extensive training.

First Aid

Makerspace discovered that HSE treats volunteers who do the work of staff as employees even though they are unpaid, so it’s not completely clear how a community workshop would staff first aiders, but they should probably have someone trained, especially for public events.

As a director you should think about the types of injuries that could happen when your risk assessments fail, you are looking at trips, slips, fall from height, crushing, cutting, electrocution, burning, respiratory, eye injuries and pre-existing medical conditions.

Thats a very broad spectrum of injuries which require different treatments really not sure how a space could provide full-time first aider training.

It’s possibly worth talking to HSE they are apparently very helpful.

Difficult to see how that might work.
A first aider might (and perhaps should) be present at open events but during normal operation it’s impossible for there to be a first aider present at all times.
We should rather encourage members to take responsibility for their own health and safety and not to undertake excessively risky activities.